Big Program, Small Classes

Coming from a small private university in Illinois I was unsure of what to expect in regards to class sizes when fall classes began a week ago.  You see, I am a part of the advanced standing track of the MSW program and there are only 17 of us enrolled in the advanced standing track, which meant that there were only 17 of us in the required summer courses for advanced standing students (more on the specifics of the advanced standing track and the summer courses in another post so stay tuned!). Therefore, we were unsure of what to expect as fall classes began because the advanced standing track students begin to take courses related to specific concentrations like healthcare or mental health and the courses include people from other MSW tracks including MSW/MPH dual degree, Full time, and distance education.

I was pleasantly surprised when fall classes began because despite the size of the MSW program overall, over 300 students, the class sizes are small and the faculty at UNC-CH  are thoroughly interested in connecting with students on a personal but professional level and supporting them in their areas of interest. For example, I am in a Health and Theory Practice Course and a Clinical Practice with Families course along with other students from a variety of MSW programs including full time, advanced standing, distance education and MSW/MPH dual degree. While there are a number of students from different UNC MSW programs the Health Theory and Practice course only has 11 students and the Clinical Practice with Families Course only has 14 students. These class numbers have allowed me to establish a professional student-teacher relationship with my professors who know me based on my name rather than an ID Number. Additionally, the small classes have facilitated in-depth class discussions and allowed students to truly network with one another and build a strong support group of fellow MSW students.

I encourage you to learn more about the  UNC MSW program if you would like to be treated as an up and coming professional in the social work field and seek a classroom experience that facilitates professional growth, networking, and in depth class discussion.

I am happy to answer any general questions you may have regarding the MSW program, or  living in North Carolina, as well as questions specifically related to the Advanced Standing track. Please do not hesitate to contact me at banders4@email.unc.edu  and be on the lookout for future posts about the advanced standing track within the MSW program, and living in North Carolina.

About Brittany Anderson

Hi my name is Brittany Anderson and I am a full time advanced standing student at UNC Chapel Hill. The program started in May and I'm now in my second semester, I will graduate in May 2011! I am here to give you a student's perspective on the various aspects of the UNC Chapel Hill Advanced Standing MSW program and to help you as you decide if UNC's MSW program is the right choice for you whether you want to be advanced standing or decide to go another track like full time. My interests are medical social work with pediatric bone marrow transplant and pediatric hematology/oncology as well as social work with children who have physical disabilities. I am originally from Michigan but I went to undergrad in Illinois and now I live in North Carolina and the weather is so much nicer. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions about the advanced standing program or UNC School of Social Work in general. My email is banders4@email.unc.edu. Best Wishes!
This entry was posted in In the Classroom. Bookmark the permalink.