Pueblos Hermanos/Brother Towns Documentary

 

From BullFrogFilms.com

 

Friday night I went over to the FedEx Global Education Center on campus to watch Pueblos Hermanos/Brother Towns. It’s a documentary about the relationship between two towns. One is Jupiter, Florida, the other is Jacaltenango in Guatemala. Many residents from Jacaltenango have immigrated to Jupiter, Florida to find work in order to provide for their families in Guatemala.  It was truly heart breaking.

The documentary spoke with family members who were in both towns about how much they suffered. The suffering came from being separated from wives, husbands, children, parents, and siblings but also from the hunger and lack resources in Jacaltenango. The town of Jupiter is fairly divided about feelings surrounding the influx of undocumented immigrants. The town created a center for workers to go seeking day labor. People from the community who need help around their homes will come to the center, El Sol, to find workers. El Sol also offers English classes and other resources for the Latino community. The documentary also showed protesters across the street and interviewed them.

I went with a friend of mind and other Latino graduate students and enjoyed the conversation after the documentary. The conversation continued on as we went out later that night to listen to music and hang out at Jessee’s and Milltown in Carrboro. Being able to connect with students about something I’m excited about is incredibly encouraging.

About Kim Swanson

Hello! I'm Kim. I'm a first year, full-time student at the School of Social Work, and I'm loving it! Classes are small, professors are very approachable, and my classmates have been super friendly. I just moved back to North Carolina from Texas after a year working as a family case manager at a shelter for immigrants through AmeriCorps. Being back in NC is great (I'm sipping Cheerwine as I type!), but being in Austin opened my eyes to the struggles of immigrant families. I learned how necessary community organizing and education are in order to ensure positive experiences for both U.S. born individuals and our new community members and am excited to be placed at the Centro para Familias Hispanas in Raleigh for my field experience. Please let me know if you have any questions. I'm more than happy to help out!
This entry was posted in Getting Involved. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

