Field Experience Can Be Rewarding!

I love my field placement! It’s the place where I get validated that social work is my calling and that I can do this for the rest of my life.

Field can be the experience of a lifetime, the place where you are able to ask questions, make mistakes, learn, and grow. In order for that experience to be the best it can be you must be proactive and willing to take on responsibility and show your willingness to learn.

Here’s my example: Like I said I love my field placement. I’m at a hospital working with chronically ill children and it’s not the easiest job in the book. It requires a lot of self awareness and self discipline because of the emotional toll it takes on a daily basis. But, my perseverance and dedication has allowed me to use the field experience to the fullest extent. I’ve got my own cases, I’m paged by residents, doctors, and nurses to provide help, I’m now known as one of the main social workers at my field placement, and people know they can look to me and get results. As a result, the field experience is leading to job possibilities, a strong network of social work professionals for me to be able to use in the future, and a supervisor who is willing to write letters of recommendation on my behalf to help the job hunt after graduation.

Many people just see the field experience as a graduation requirement and only do the required amount of work to get by. But, if you decide that you want to get the most out of the field experience and go above and beyond it will pay off and bring rewards that will be long lasting.

About Brittany Anderson

Hi my name is Brittany Anderson and I am a full time advanced standing student at UNC Chapel Hill. The program started in May and I'm now in my second semester, I will graduate in May 2011! I am here to give you a student's perspective on the various aspects of the UNC Chapel Hill Advanced Standing MSW program and to help you as you decide if UNC's MSW program is the right choice for you whether you want to be advanced standing or decide to go another track like full time. My interests are medical social work with pediatric bone marrow transplant and pediatric hematology/oncology as well as social work with children who have physical disabilities. I am originally from Michigan but I went to undergrad in Illinois and now I live in North Carolina and the weather is so much nicer. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions about the advanced standing program or UNC School of Social Work in general. My email is banders4@email.unc.edu. Best Wishes!
This entry was posted in Field Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

