Finally Adjusted

So, I really thought this year would be a breeze. But, my year has started off crazy and sooo many things have happened that I never would have imagined making it hard for me to adjust. I am very busy and I feel like there are times when it is hard for me to find time for myself. As a student, intern and waitress I find it hard to even spend time with my family and friends.  About 2-3 weeks ago I realized that I really needed to talk to someone so I contacted my Advisor and she asked me one simple question. That was what have you done for yourself this semester. I took a minute to contemplate because in my mind I knew that I would be able to come up with something. Needless to say I could not come up with a single thing. Everything that popped into my mind pertained to something that I had done for school, field, Chili’s or for my family. She then gave me a task and that was that over the weekend I had to do something for myself. She reminded me of the importance of self-care. That weekend I still did not do anything for myself because I had to work at Chili’s and I had two papers due that week. I did think about self-care though I just could not find the time. Well, that week I did my best to avoid her or I would make sure to converse with her about something else before she asked me about self-care. It worked, well at least at the time I thought it did. The following week when I went to her office she approached me and she informed me that she had not forgotten about the task that I was supposed to complete and she wanted to know what I had done. I still had not found the time to do anything and that is when it really hit me that I am slowly but surely wearing myself down. I promised her that I would do something for myself that week. But, she was not just going to let me make that promise again. She wanted me to let her know what I was going to do before she let me off the hook. I guess it was the whole idea of her wanting me to speak something into existence. Well, I told her that I was going to go out with my Mom, Grandmother and Aunt to Red Lobster for Endless Shrimp. She looked at me as if she were contemplating in her mind whether or not it was really self-care and I jumped in before she could tell me it was not to let her know why it was. I really enjoyed myself at Red Lobster that week and spending time with my family without having to worry about doing this and that. Now I have a new outlook, new plan and new schedule and I have adjusted…… FINALLY!

I tell you this story because having faculty like this in my life reminds me of why I came to UNC. They truly care and want to see you do well. Not to mention that they truly understand you. I am truly grateful for my advisor, especially at times like these because she reminds me of all the important tidbits that I may forget. She reminds me that I am an intern and not a worker. She also reminds me that I am allowed to forget things sometimes. Then there are those times where I may say I can’t and she tells me that I can and then goes on to tell me why she believes in me. Leaving people like her is the only thing that makes me sad about graduating in May. But, then I remember that she is only a phone call or e-mail away!

About Erica Mayes-Gordon

Hello everyone! My name is Erica Mayes-Gordon and I am what you would call a true Carolina girl.I am originally from Rock Hill, SC, but I was raised in a small town called Wendell here in NC. I received my undergraduate degree in Business Administration and my concentration was Marketing. After working in corporate America for about a year I realized that it was not for me and I began working with Americorps and Haven House Services. I loved it an realized that my passion is working with Children and Families., which led me here to the School of Social Work. I am a NC Child Welfare Collaborative Leadership Scholar and I am also in the Certificate of Substance Abuse Studies Program. In addition, I am the co-chair of the Black Student Caucus. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me. I look forward to hearing from you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally Adjusted

  1. Dasen Moore says:

    Great Post Erica! It sounds like UNC has really helped you grow both personally and professionally. Thats great!

  2. Dasen Moore says:

    Thank you for the tour of UNC on my campus visit. It was great meeting you in person and this was my first time visiting Chapel Hill. UNC has a beautiful campus and I truly enjoyed the food also. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

