Rides, games, and…….Krispy Kreme Burgers!

As a part of any good October, a visit to the state fair is necessary! Coming from TX where “everything is bigger” I wasn’t sure how the NC State Fair would measure up to my expectations, but after today, I have to admit…I was impressed and had a lot of fun! The team I’m on in my field placement gets a “day away” each year to have a fun team building day, and this year we went to the fair! (Going into a haunted house with your coworkers builds trust right????). The fair has great rides, carnival games, people watching, and of course – food! My favorite food was the grilled buttery corn but everything that I saw looked pretty yummy and tempting. Well, almost everything.

The new item this year was Krispy Kreme Burgers! Really???? Two glazed doughnuts around a big beef patty andsome bacon….AH! I decided to leave those 1500 calories for other fair-goers to enjoy 🙂 Actually, my inner social worker debated the ethics of offering this combo – isn’t it some form of ethical issue to promote this in a society of increasing obesity? I have all sorts of thoughts here, but I’ll leave those for another day! Speaking of social work, today was “Can Day” at the fair, where donating 4 cans of food to the local food bank got you in for free! I thought this was a really cool way of collecting for the food bank while raising awareness. North Carolina State Fair gets two thumbs up from me!

About Lindsey O'Hare

Hi! My name is Lindsey and I'm a concentration year full-time MSW student. I moved to Chapel Hill last year from Texas for the Social Work program and I couldn't be happier with my decision! I am a Child Welfare Education Collaborative Scholar, so my focus in the program is direct practice working with children and families. I am interested in working with children who have been abused or neglected along with children with disabilities, and I’ve easily been able to focus on both topics through course selection, my field placements, a research assistantship, and course assignments. My favorite part of the program has been the number and variety of opportunities offered - free access to clinical lecture series, volunteer opportunities in the community, exposure to other professionals in the field, and on and on. I’d love to answer any questions you may have, so feel free to contact me! LOHare@email.unc.edu. Best of luck on your application process and decision.
This entry was posted in Events, I ♥ North Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.