Working on Self-Care (and my flexibility!)

As a graduate student with limited funds, I am always happy to take advantage of a good deal. The most recent one I stumbled upon was a package for 15 classes at the new Bikram Yoga studio in Downtown Durham. For those who haven’t heard of this style of yoga, it is essentially 90 minutes of hatha yoga completed in a room that is 105 degrees with between 40 and 50% humidity. I’ll admit that the first few classes were rough. I had to adjust to the heat and all the back bending, but it’s come to be a great method of self-care for me during the end-of-the-semester push. Last night I went even though I was exhausted from my job and stressed about some upcoming school assignments. Having the chance to sweat it out and focus on something other than deadlines (you need some serious meditation skills to maintain some of those balance poses!) for a while was invigorating. My passes run out at the end of the month, but here’s hoping I can find a way to keep making it part of my routine. Balancing Stick Pose/Tuladandasana

 

 

 

 

 

Tuladandasana

  • Circulates blood to entire heart
  • Cleans and stretches veins and arteries of heart
  • Improves posture and balance
This entry was posted in I ♥ North Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.