Making choices

While I am certainly enjoying getting to rest my brain a little over winter break, I am not completely removed from school life. Spring 2011 is my last semester as a Triangle Distance student, and I will be planning for my concentration year. Triangle Distance students merge with 2nd year full time students once they finish their foundation credits. After two years of taking it nice and easy, I feel like I am racing to the finish line! I am definitely feeling some anxiety about the choices I will make over the next few months– where will my concentration placement be? Which classes can I fit in between now and Spring 2012? Do I really want to get the Nonprofit Leadership certificate? What if I make the wrong choice? At what point is it too late to turn back?

You can see how this can quickly get out of hand. The bright side is that the staff at UNC has been endlessly supportive. Two staff members from the field office are meeting with me in January to discuss management/community practice placements. My academic advisor is helping me with my plan of study and figuring out which mix of classes will best suit my career goals (which are still a little fuzzy). Having easy access to people in the know has made my time at the School of Social Work feel a lot more manageable. I’ll be sure to let you know when I figure it all out. 🙂

This entry was posted in Academics. Bookmark the permalink.