Back to the (coffee) Grind

After a marvelous winter break, it’s time to head back to school tomorrow. I can’t wait to see everyone, but one more week would have been nice! I’m a little nervous about going into this semester because I’m now working two part time jobs–Bean Trader’s Coffee Shop and the School of Social Work. It’s nice to be working behind the coffee counter again and coming home reeking of coffee. I also now have a great place to get my coffee. I’m going to be living off the stuff this semester. I’m also working on my law school application so I can do the MSW/JD dual degree program.

My husband, Dave, decided on a New Years resolution for me. We’re going to start swimming twice a week before school. He’s a swim coach and is ready for me to start understanding when he talks about work. I’ve swam twice so far, and I love it! It’s healthy food and exercise for me this year! Self-care is constantly talked about in Social Work. If you can’t care for yourself, you won’t be an effective as a social worker. I think this is going to be a great way to take my mind off of all things school related and do something for myself. The difficult part will be getting up at 5:30 to get to practice. With this mixture of coffee and swimming I’m hoping for a great semester!

Dave swimming in college

About Kim Swanson

Hello! I'm Kim. I'm a first year, full-time student at the School of Social Work, and I'm loving it! Classes are small, professors are very approachable, and my classmates have been super friendly. I just moved back to North Carolina from Texas after a year working as a family case manager at a shelter for immigrants through AmeriCorps. Being back in NC is great (I'm sipping Cheerwine as I type!), but being in Austin opened my eyes to the struggles of immigrant families. I learned how necessary community organizing and education are in order to ensure positive experiences for both U.S. born individuals and our new community members and am excited to be placed at the Centro para Familias Hispanas in Raleigh for my field experience. Please let me know if you have any questions. I'm more than happy to help out!
This entry was posted in Academics, Getting Involved. Bookmark the permalink.