NC Food & Fun

I’ll admit I’m struggling with a good topic for this blog post, I think it’s because the schedule got weird with the snow day and MLK Jr. day that I got to enjoy not too long ago. I’ve only been to each of my classes one time instead of twice and it feels like I’m in independent study because I’ve been doing everything at my own pace. So instead of focusing on school I’ll share some more cool NC things to do because I’m still finding awesome things to do even though I’ve lived here for two years.

1. Kidzu Children’s Museum – Chapel Hill, NC

Ok you are probably thinking I’m weird, but let me explain. I have a niece and nephew (4 & 2 years old) that live in Charlotte, NC and come to visit from time to time. When I found out that Chapel Hill had it’s very own kids museum right on Franklin St. (next to Starbucks and Spanky’s) I couldn’t wait until I could take Addison and Nolan because it’s something local and fun that is cheap. Kidzu is only $5.00 per person and a lot of the staff are UNC students which makes it even more cool. They have a section that is a kitchen/cafe, a farmer’s market, a garden, a construction zone, a place for arts & crafts, a reading corner, and even a place for babies who are too young to enjoy the rest of the museum. So for those of you who are perspective graduate students that are parents, or have nieces and nephews like I do, you should check out Kidzu!

Char-Grill Durham, NC

I’m sure that most of you who have lived in the Triangle area (Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill) have heard of Char-Grill and think it’s not a big deal. But I’m from the midwest and we don’t have any restaurant like Char-Grill (I’d say McDonalds is the closest thing we’ve got). For those of you that don’t know, Char-Grill is a fast food burger joint that was named of the 51 greatest burger joints by USA Today. You fill out a paper slip that consists of burgers, fries, milkshakes, and a few other options like a grilled cheese or grilled chicken and sandwich (and the necessary condiments) and slip it into the kitchen through a slot. The kitchen is enclosed in clear glass so you can see your food cooking, and then your name is called over a speaker.  The food was very tasty and the experience was one of a kind (at least in my opinion) and inexpensive just over $5.00 for a burger, a good portion of fries, and a small soda. So if you’re craving a burger and fries during your nightly homework time, take a study break and go to Char-Grill in Durham.

Allen & Son Barbecue- Durham, NC

Once again, all you North Carolina people are probably thinking I’m nuts because you’ve grown up with BBQ and it’s nothing special. So this is for those perspective students coming from a state that is clueless about BBQ (Michiganders prefer Coney Dogs!). North Carolina BBQ  is vinegar based and Allen & Sons is perfect if you want authentic NC BBQ. My roommate said it was once featured on Oprah and my brother has numerous restaurant books (he’s a food nut) that mention Allen & Son BBQ as a “must” if you want to eat REAL BBQ. The Allen & Sons I went to is definitely a hole in the wall that to be honest looks very run down on the outside (thankfully word travels by mouth more than the appearance). But the barbecue was AMAZING definitely the best barbecue I’ve ever tasted, and the restaurant was quite busy with many people ordering take out and large groups eating inside. They also serve Brunswick stew, hush puppies (which according to my niece were yummy), and coleslaw. The price wasn’t overly expensive and was definitely worth it. Plus, if you go on Friday’s they have homemade banana pudding for dessert and you can get it hot or cold, I ordered it hot, and I will be going back just for the pudding, it was delicious. So if you’re looking for a restaurant that serves good BBQ when you’re a student at UNC check out Allen & Son.

I wish I had pictures of these great NC places to share with you all, unfortunately my niece and nephew held the camera captive during their entire visit, taking pictures of the floor, ceiling, and everything in between.

I hope that my blog post has added a few “pros” to your list of why you want to come to UNC or at least fun things you could do if you decide UNC is the right place to get your MSW!

About Brittany Anderson

Hi my name is Brittany Anderson and I am a full time advanced standing student at UNC Chapel Hill. The program started in May and I'm now in my second semester, I will graduate in May 2011! I am here to give you a student's perspective on the various aspects of the UNC Chapel Hill Advanced Standing MSW program and to help you as you decide if UNC's MSW program is the right choice for you whether you want to be advanced standing or decide to go another track like full time. My interests are medical social work with pediatric bone marrow transplant and pediatric hematology/oncology as well as social work with children who have physical disabilities. I am originally from Michigan but I went to undergrad in Illinois and now I live in North Carolina and the weather is so much nicer. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions about the advanced standing program or UNC School of Social Work in general. My email is banders4@email.unc.edu. Best Wishes!
This entry was posted in I ♥ North Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.