The Black Student Caucus

January and February were very busy months for the Black Student Caucus. In January the Black Student Caucus along with some students in the SSW decided to make MLK Day a day on and not a day off. We met up on Franklin St. at 9 am for the rally and marched to First Baptist Church.  After the march we went to Christ United Methodist Church to volunteer in the Orange County Signature Project. We helped sort the massive piles of shoes that were donated and we also cleaned keyboards amongst other small projects. Check out the slideshow below:

During the month of February the Black Student Caucus planned two events and changed the display case in the lobby weekly to represent Black Heritage. One of the events that we planned was a viewing of the documentary “Waiting for Superman.” We had a great turn out and there were some mixed reviews about the documentary, but it really opened our eyes to some of the failures of our education system. I second event was the Taste of Black Heritage sampling event. It is kind of like the Taste of Chicago, but a lot smaller 🙂 This event surpassed all my expectations! We had a great turn out, the food was great, we received a lot of donations and it was a great end to Black History Month. I am truly grateful for all the participants who helped make this day successful. We had everything from Grandma Cain’s Pound Cake to Fried Chicken to Dressing and even some good old Collard Greens. I did not get the opportunity to take many pictures of the festivities, but please check out the ones that I do have below:

It has been great being the co-chair of the Black Student Caucus this year….I am going to miss it!!!

About Erica Mayes-Gordon

Hello everyone! My name is Erica Mayes-Gordon and I am what you would call a true Carolina girl.I am originally from Rock Hill, SC, but I was raised in a small town called Wendell here in NC. I received my undergraduate degree in Business Administration and my concentration was Marketing. After working in corporate America for about a year I realized that it was not for me and I began working with Americorps and Haven House Services. I loved it an realized that my passion is working with Children and Families., which led me here to the School of Social Work. I am a NC Child Welfare Collaborative Leadership Scholar and I am also in the Certificate of Substance Abuse Studies Program. In addition, I am the co-chair of the Black Student Caucus. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me. I look forward to hearing from you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.