Welcome Weekend!

Last weekend was Welcome Weekend for newly admitted students a the UNC School of Social Work. As things boiled down to the last minute, I was a little nervous, but I think it went great! I especially loved meeting all of the admitted students. There was such an amazing range of interest from child welfare to using exercise within mental health. Students came from California, Wyoming, Washington D.C., and other places all over the country. I wish we had the amazing sunny, blue skies we usually do in North Carolina, but the gloomy weather didn’t make anyone less excited about being there.

The newly admitted students had the opportunity to go to a mock class with either Natasha Bowen or Dan Hudgins, be a part of a small group discussion in an area of their interest, meet professors and learn about certificates and other programs at the fair, hear from Dean Richman, talk to current students, and more. There was a lot of information to process, but everyone kept smiling!

Thank you to everyone who came. It really was wonderful getting to talk to you and hear about the awesome plans you have for your life. I can’t wait to see you in the fall!

About Kim Swanson

Hello! I'm Kim. I'm a first year, full-time student at the School of Social Work, and I'm loving it! Classes are small, professors are very approachable, and my classmates have been super friendly. I just moved back to North Carolina from Texas after a year working as a family case manager at a shelter for immigrants through AmeriCorps. Being back in NC is great (I'm sipping Cheerwine as I type!), but being in Austin opened my eyes to the struggles of immigrant families. I learned how necessary community organizing and education are in order to ensure positive experiences for both U.S. born individuals and our new community members and am excited to be placed at the Centro para Familias Hispanas in Raleigh for my field experience. Please let me know if you have any questions. I'm more than happy to help out!
This entry was posted in Events, I ♥ North Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.