Don’t Take Your Time at UNC For Granted

It’s very cliché to say but don’t take the time you are at UNC for granted. Today I attended my last graduate school class and quite possibly the last class where I will be known as a student rather than a professional. Sure there will be trainings, seminars, lectures, and other things I will attend as a social worker, but I won’t be considered a student. Although I’m excited about graduation and the possibilities that lie ahead, it is quite sad that my student career is ending. Despite all the stress and frustrations that occur due to papers, finals, presentations, and group projects I realized that overall I enjoy being in the classroom. I wouldn’t go back and change anything, but I wished the time away pushing to get to the end and now here I am waiting to interview for my first big girl job and wondering why I wanted school to go by so quickly. It’s going to be difficult to refrain from saying “oh I wish this class would just end” or “I just want to get my MSW already.” But, take it from a student who’s been there, try to enjoy every little moment, and always ask yourself “what’s one good thing that happened in field, or in class?” It puts things into perspective.

I wish you all the best of luck as you begin your MSW journey and decide if UNC is the right choice for you!!!!!


About Brittany Anderson

Hi my name is Brittany Anderson and I am a full time advanced standing student at UNC Chapel Hill. The program started in May and I'm now in my second semester, I will graduate in May 2011! I am here to give you a student's perspective on the various aspects of the UNC Chapel Hill Advanced Standing MSW program and to help you as you decide if UNC's MSW program is the right choice for you whether you want to be advanced standing or decide to go another track like full time. My interests are medical social work with pediatric bone marrow transplant and pediatric hematology/oncology as well as social work with children who have physical disabilities. I am originally from Michigan but I went to undergrad in Illinois and now I live in North Carolina and the weather is so much nicer. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions about the advanced standing program or UNC School of Social Work in general. My email is banders4@email.unc.edu. Best Wishes!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.