A New Chapter

I can’t believe it’s been over a year since I’ve started my graduate school career at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Looking back, I remember being really anxious about all the changes that was happening – going back to school after working for so many years, moving to a new state, meeting new people – I honestly wasn’t sure I was cut out for all of it. Throughout the transition, I felt really supported by the staff and advisers from the Social Work department. My classmates were also a source of support and seeing their various passions and interests was encouraging to be around. There was a real sense of community and camaraderie that I deeply appreciate. I was really surprised at how easy it was to feel comfortable in North Carolina. I’ve lived in a couple different places in the world but I can honestly say that North Carolina is my favorite! So even though I was initially apprehensive about moving and starting grad school, because of the support and community that I’ve found, I feel like I am home.

About Angela You

Hi! I'm a 2nd year MSW/PhD student at UNC - School of Social Work. My area of focus is in child welfare and mental health services for children in foster care. I grew up in Maryland, went to school at Michigan, worked in China then D.C. before starting grad school. I love traveling, non sequiturs, and puns. If you have any questions about the MSW/PhD program, feel free to email me at ayou@email.unc.edu.
This entry was posted in Academics, I ♥ North Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.