A Season for Thanks

For many people, the holiday season is here and for some, it begins with celebrating Thanksgiving. We all have our unique traditions in how we celebrate any holiday. In my family, Thanksgiving Day usually consists of a big meal, naps all around and an evening movie adventure. I love this, and I am always looking forward to it. In more recent years, I find myself focusing more on the ‘thanks’ part of this day. I actually use the entire season (starting in November and lasting until New Year’s Day) as an opportunity to be thankful for all of the many blessings and opportunities that I have.

One of the things that I am extremely thankful for this season is the opportunity to connect with people. Beyond long-term relationships with family and friends, I recognize that every year, day, or season of life brings about new opportunities to connect with new people. Sometimes people come into your life just to encourage you for a day. Other times people come into your life for you to encourage them for the day. Sometimes you have the opportunity to share an experience and other times you have the privilege of creating a memorable experience for someone else. Whatever the reason may be, this is a privilege I’m thankful for. I am glad I have chosen social work for my career choice. The social work field provides plenty of opportunities to genuinely connect with families and individuals, and guess what, I’m thankful for that too.

So as you consider a season for thanks (whatever that looks like for you), take some time to write a list of the things you’re thankful for or tell someone that you’re thankful for them and appreciate their presence in your life!

Happy Living!

About Monica Hadley

I am a 2nd year, full-time MSW student from the big metropolis of Pittsboro, NC. My professional interests are public child welfare, child maltreatment prevention and program evaluation. My hobbies include: reading, taking naps, eating sushi, gathering in small social groups, riding my motorcycle, shopping, social networking and lots more :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.