Jump In

As my break comes to a close, quite frankly, I have mixed feelings. I’m excited to be entering my last semester of graduate school (YAY!!!). I’m sad that break is ending (I have enjoyed reading for pleasure, sleeping late, opening presents and eating lots of goodies). I’m ambivalent about upcoming papers, projects and presentations. I feel slightly overwhelmed with the thought that this last semester will need to include job hunting. As much as I would like to put some things on hold and move forward with others, I know I will need to jump back into the swing of things, and do it quickly.

Every semester is different. As I think back through each semester I am aware of each semesters’ unique challenges and accomplishments, and as I mentioned in my last post, I’m thankful. So as I prepare to complete this last semester, and in the spirit of a new year, I have given some thought to a few goals I would like to accomplish:

  1. Graduate
  2. Get a job
  3. Enjoy every step of the journey

You might be thinking, “Is that it?” Not really. I have several others, but these three, especially that last one, are the simplest and best way for me to be present, open and focused during this last semester. I have a lot to do and I’m not really sure how it is all going to get done, but rather than dwell on this pool of uncertainty, I’ll take a deep breath, and jump in.

About Monica Hadley

I am a 2nd year, full-time MSW student from the big metropolis of Pittsboro, NC. My professional interests are public child welfare, child maltreatment prevention and program evaluation. My hobbies include: reading, taking naps, eating sushi, gathering in small social groups, riding my motorcycle, shopping, social networking and lots more :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.