How great is North Carolina?

North Carolina, the tar heel state and land of the pines. As a native North Carolinian, I can speak without reservation that I believe that our state is one of the very best in the country. What is the best part of North Carolina? That’s a trick question, because the correct answer is EVERYTHING! I feel that I have been able to capture a unique perspective by growing up near the beach, spending time living in the mountains, and now residing in Chapel Hill. After experiencing life in the beach, the mountains, and now the piedmont, becoming a UNC tar heel has truly added meaning to what it feels like to be a North Carolinian.

What is the best part about living in Chapel Hill? I immediately think of the picturesque campus, when I bike to class down historic Franklin Street and pass by the old well. Now that September is upon us, I am reminded of that cool, crisp autumn air that invites the comfort of sweater weather once again. And just around the corner is that red, yellow, and orange fall foliage that makes the UNC campus as inviting as ever.

With the mountains and the beaches a mere two and a half hours away, weekend getaways are always a possibility. Whether I want to venture up the mountain to enjoy and overnight camping adventure or hit the beach to catch some waves, living in Chapel Hill has been an incredible experience. I’m excited to continue my career here with the UNC School of Social Work and I can’t wait to see what this second year brings.

 

messy hair at the windy roan mountain highlands.

A few weeks ago, I was able to take a quick camping trip out to Roan Mountain and enjoy some nature before classes were in full swing.

About Reiss Powell

I am a second year full time student originally from Wilmington, North Carolina. My concentration is direct practice and my primary social work interests are working with the SPMI population, veterans, those dealing with substance abuse issues. My current field placement is at an outpatient substance abuse facility. When I'm not enjoying social work activities, I partake in hiking, camping, and spending time at the beach.
This entry was posted in I ♥ North Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.