Coffee for Cure!

Since October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, I found it only appropriate to blog about the UNC-CH SSW Black Student Caucus’s upcoming breast cancer event! For the past month, the Black Student Caucus (BSC) has been raising money for the “Gift for Life Block Walk” that is taking place October 13th. The Gift for Life Block Walk is sponsored by the Sisters Network, a survivors group here in the Triangle. This unique and innovative program allows breast cancer survivors to partner with volunteers and canvas door-to-door in the African American community to distribute breast health education brochures, resource information, and pink ribbons. The community has an opportunity to meet survivors, hear their stories, and experience their triumph over breast cancer. Individuals are invited to the event site to enjoy refreshments and visit breast cancer related agency exhibits and learn more about the resources and services available. Free mammograms are also offered by a mobile unit at select Sisters Network® Inc, affiliate chapters. This is the 2nd year our BSC will participate in the event.

 

Each Monday since the start of September, the BSC has been set up in the SSW lobby from 8:30 am – 11am selling $1 cups of coffee and tea. In addition, BSC members have been collecting loose change donations from classmates, faculty, and staff. All of the proceeds collected will be donated to Sisters Network® Inc. to continue their work in addressing the breast health needs of African American women. As a Caucus, it is great to be able to give back to our community and with only two weeks left I am growing more and more excited about participating in this event =) !


Image
Sister’s Network Triangle NC. (n.d.). Events & programs. Retrieved from http://www.sisterstriangle.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=3&Itemid=9
About Tamsin Woolley

Hello! My name is Tamsin, and I am a second year full-time student here at UNC-CH School of Social Work! I am originally from Boston, MA; however I spent the majority of my childhood living overseas. I have a passion for working with at-risk youth and families experiencing domestic violence. I am a North Carolina Leadership Scholar through the North Carolina Child Welfare Education Collaborative; thus I am doing my field placement at a local Child Protective Services agency. I am also the Chair of the UNC School of Social Work Black Student Caucus for the 2012-2013 academic year. When I am not at school, I love to spend time with friends/family, play softball, and travel!
This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.