Eating Thanks & Giving Turkeys

As the Thanksgiving holiday approaches, I am becoming increasingly excited! Just thinking about the roasted turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, greens, cornbread, cranberry sauce, sweet potato pie, pecan pie, and banana pudding makes my mouth water (num num num!).  But this year I am not only excited about the food, I am also extremely thankful for it. Living in a world with so much chaos and disaster, I am blessed to be able to sit down at such a plentiful table year after year. As Americans, we have made it our culture to celebrate with food and often it is taken for granted. This year, there are many families that will not be able to sit down and share a Thanksgiving meal with loved ones whether it is because of Hurricane Sandy, job loss, poverty or other factors.  For those of us that do, it should not be taken for granted. It is important for us to take time to acknowledge the things in our lives for which we are thankful. I am blessed to have made it this far, and there are many years of Thanksgivings for which I am thankful. So, this year as I sit down to my Thanksgiving meal, I will not be eating just to eat, but eating and giving thanks in a new and deeper way.

As we talked about our gratitude and as well as our awareness of others from different circumstances, the Black Student Caucus (BSC) chose to sponsor a family for Thanksgiving. Over the past few weeks, BSC members have been selling raffle tickets to raise money to purchase food items for a family. We raffled gift cards to Chili’s, iTunes, Starbucks, and the UNC bookstore. Now, we will have the pleasure of shopping for all the traditional parts of a Thanksgiving meal and deliver them to a family. We are grateful for the opportunity to give to others and embody the true ideals of social work.

About Tamsin Woolley

Hello! My name is Tamsin, and I am a second year full-time student here at UNC-CH School of Social Work! I am originally from Boston, MA; however I spent the majority of my childhood living overseas. I have a passion for working with at-risk youth and families experiencing domestic violence. I am a North Carolina Leadership Scholar through the North Carolina Child Welfare Education Collaborative; thus I am doing my field placement at a local Child Protective Services agency. I am also the Chair of the UNC School of Social Work Black Student Caucus for the 2012-2013 academic year. When I am not at school, I love to spend time with friends/family, play softball, and travel!
This entry was posted in Getting Involved. Bookmark the permalink.