Giving Thanks

As the semester comes to a close and the holiday season begins, I am reminded of how thankful I am for the opportunity to pursue my dreams in graduate school. A few years ago while working a full-time job, I did not think that returning to school was a realistic option for me; however, now with (almost) three semesters completed and only one semester left before earning my master’s degree, I am reminded of the importance of showing appreciation and giving thanks.

About three years ago, I decided to start a new tradition for Thanksgiving–giving thanks to all the individuals who have helped me throughout the year. Every fall season, I write personalized thank you cards and give them to the people who have contributed, in any way, to my ability to attend school–from the bus driver who waited as I ran to the bus stop to the administrative assistant who let me print a paper last-minute in her office. I also take the time to thank those individuals who affect my everyday life through their service, such as mail deliverers, janitors, grocery store cashiers, and security guards. A personal sign of appreciation and recognition of their work goes a long way when thank you is rarely heard. So give thanks and demonstrate the real reason for the season!!

About Charity S. Watkins

After earning my MSW in May 2013 and completing the MSW/PhD Continuum Program, I am now a third-year PhD student. I am originally from Rochester, New York but I have lived in the Durham/Chapel Hill area since graduating from UNC with my bachelor's degree in sociology. My areas of interest include family dynamics, educational resilience, racial and socioeconomic disparities, and school-based interventions. Aside from studying, I enjoy exercising, listening to music, going to Chicago Line Dancing classes, and spending time with my husband and two dogs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.