A great way to end the semester: Success Story

My field placement is at the Center for New North Carolinians in Greensboro, NC. It’s been a pleasure being engaged there since the summer because I have been able to see the development and success of several projects. One project in particular has caught my attention because of the impact it is having on the lives of numerous refugee women and their families. “Crafty Conversations” began as an opportunity for refugee and immigrant women to learn handicrafts while developing relationships and practicing English. It has grown into a way to empower themselves to use handicraft skills as a way to engage the American business model and contribute to the financial stability of their families. After much dedicated labor, handicrafts were submitted to four sale events in November at First Presbyterian Church, the Greensboro Children’s Museum, Ten Thousand Villages, and the Westover Church Home. Roughly seventy percent of the revenue goes back to these women and at Ten Thousand Villages they turned a profit of $2,000 overall. The women were amazed and overwhelmed because of what they had been able to accomplish.

 

About Liz Leon

After attending UNCG for my BSW and spending some time in the field, I am excited to be part of the Advanced Standing MSW class of 2013. My concentration is Community, Management and Policy Practice and I am doing my internship in Greensboro, working with refugees and immigrants. Besides academics, I always make time for the extracurriculars and enjoy just about anything as long as it involves my favorite people. Please don't hesitate to contact me at lizblizz@live.unc.edu if you have any questions about the Advanced Standing Program or UNC's School of Social Work in general.
This entry was posted in Field Work. Bookmark the permalink.