Of Rituals, Rewards, and Rejuvenation: Reflection on finishing the UNC-MSW program

my mantle
The deep layer of dust that has gathered on the mantle suggests I’ve had more pressing priorities during this final semester. Before wiping it away forever I paused to engrave the date and my initials into these messy grains to mark the moment.

I hope each of my fellow graduates is pleasantly mindful of the symbols that attest to your many labors and will allow yourself the luxury to celebrate the seemingly insignificant signs that say “I made it!” And be sure to hug the ones who carried you to the finish line, for the very essence of our chosen profession reminds us that no one walks alone.

About Marguerite Keil

Ancora Imparo! To sweet endings, new beginnings and live long learning! I have now finished my third and final year of the UNC-MSW program and it has exceeded my expectations! I completed the first two years through the Winston Salem Distance Education program that was phenomenal and have now just finished an equally great year here on campus. Certainly I leave the program with more knowledge, but more importantly, I leave with more personal insight and a clearer sense of myself. But this is not the end - only a new beginning. In a few weeks I embark on a new career - not the one I envisioned with the full-time employer I had when I first enrolled. Instead, these years of academic training and field work have blazed a new path and opened new doors of opportunity. They have brought new people and a new scope of practice into my life. I owe a good part of this to the certificate program (Substance Abuse Certificate in my case), which is why I want to encourage others to pursue some certification or licensure along with their MSW. Yes, it does mean more work, but in the end I am quite sure you will be glad you did. And the experiences you share with those pursuing the same path will make your time at Carolina that much sweeter and memorable. Blessings! ~mk
This entry was posted in Academics, Events. Bookmark the permalink.