Time flies…and other reflections

Image            

As I sit down to write my final post of this year, I am initially a loss for words.  This has been a whirlwind semester. The first semester of my concentration (and final) year of social work school has been filled with excitement, challenges, and wonderful opportunities. As I take a few moments to breathe and reflect now that my final assignment has been submitted, I have a just a few reflections.    

  1. Times flies…when you are having fun…and even if you aren’t.  It feels like just yesterday when I was studying for the GRE and requesting letters of recommendations to accompany my UNC School of Social Work application.  However, that was actually two years ago!  From then until now, so many things have changed and I am now less than six months from graduation!  This journey has been rewarding and challenging in ways that I could not have even imagined.  I will admit it’s a lot harder to stay up past midnight than it was in undergrad!  (Hence the “….and even if you aren’t” part!)  It may sound cliché but I have learned so much and actually am starting to feel like a social worker.  I look around and wonder when did I get here and how did it happen so fast!
  2. Live it and love it!  I have really had to make sure I am enjoying these moments of my graduate school experience.  Of course being back in school comes with less money and late nights, but it’s SO much more.  I have found enjoyment in visiting the Ackland Art Museum, UNC football, and even lots of student discounts all over town.  Being back in school is such a unique opportunity and it can be easy to take it for granted.  It can be so easy to become a hermit who reads and writes papers non-stop.  But it is important to take time to “smell the roses”.  I make sure to remind myself how special these two years are and to truly embrace this experience.
  3. It will all work out in the end.  (And if it hasn’t worked out…it’s not the end.)  This is a “note to self” as I prepare for my fourth and final semester of school.  I have already attended one session on maximizing my winter break to get a jump on my job search.  There are certainly many more sessions to attend and plans to make as I prepare to re-enter the job market.  Like many of my colleagues, I am wondering: Will I get a job?  How long will it take to find a job?  What if it’s not the job I really want?  Will I pass my licensing exam? What do I even need to know for the exam?  The list of questions goes on and on and if I’m not careful they could take over my mind.  However, I honestly believe that it will all work out in the end.  As long as I do my part and put my best foot forward, I will be successful. 

So for now, I have one last week at my field placement before I head out for vacation.  After this week, I will spend my days reading for fun, shopping, eating great food, and engaging in as MANY other “self-care techniques” as I can think of.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.