Embrace the full experience – explore NC!

Hanging Rock State Park; Hanging Rock Trail - moderate.

Hanging Rock State Park; Hanging Rock Trail – moderate.

Graduate school encompasses many different levels of exposure and learning; we meet lifelong friends, we study, we learn new skill sets, we study, we broaden our perspectives, we study, we find our passion and purpose in life, we try new things and challenge ourselves with new and awesome experiences, and yep…we study. My point is that our graduate school experiences are so much more than the papers we write or the ever-pressing articles we have to read – although, they are a good portion of our program. Where we decide to attend graduate school and how we explore that area can greatly enhance our experience. North Carolina is a great state to explore! At different times during the year, North Carolinians can choose to go hiking, city touring, beach bumming, skiing (yes, skiing, imagine that!), and vineyard hopping.

Raffaldini

Raffaldini

As fall weather is upon us (and also fall break) making plans with family and friends to get out and explore can be a gratifying experience, and trust me, a compromise can be made with looming assignments and readings. During my first year as a Winston-Salem Distance Ed student, a third year student told our cohort “never leave the house without an article or book on your person”. This has been how I compromise. I recruit a driver, read on the way, and enjoy every second of my experience while exploring. In truth, I am only practicing what I advise of my clients: the art of mindfulness. When I hike, depending on the level of the trail, my frontal lobe is spending so much time negotiating the trail that my mind drifts into a cleansing decision-making frenzy – lest I trip over a tree trump and bite the dust!

One of the hanging rocks at HRSP. Option to climb up the rock or trail.

One of the hanging rocks at HRSP. Option to climb up the rock or trail.

Anyway, all of that to say, I love North Carolina. There are many social predicaments I would prefer to be different; but the exploration of nature and curiosity is a like Switzerland to me: just plain ole’ neutral. So, to begin your exploration, below is a link for NC state parks, NC waterfalls, and Winston-Salem activities. A few of my favorites are Stone Mountain State Park, Triple Falls, Hanging Rock State Park, and…ahem, Winston-Salem (coffee and a movie at our independent art house cinema).  Enjoy exploring!

http://www.ncparks.gov/Visit/main.php

http://www.ncwaterfalls.com/

http://caminobakery.com/our-story/ and http://aperturecinema.com/about.html

http://www.visitwinstonsalem.com/

A/perture Theatre. Downtown Winston 4th Street.

A/perture Art House Cinema. Downtown Winston 4th Street.

Hanging Rock State Park

Hanging Rock State Park

Triple Falls, NC

Triple Falls, NC

About AlexisOverstreet

I am a final year full-time student - formerly a part of the Winston-Salem Distance Education cohort. I am originally from Augusta, Georgia but I have lived in North Carolina for many years and now call it my home. My social work interests are advocacy for stigma-free mental health, Substance Abuse Clinical Practice for adults and adolescents, Motivational Interviewing and strengths-based practice, and severe and persistent mental illness. I am also interested in environmental justice issues along with advocacy for consumer rights.
This entry was posted in Getting Involved, I ♥ North Carolina and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.