Learning Continues Outside

This coming week I will be attending the CSWE APM and I am extremely excited.  My first professional social work conference. I have absolutely no idea what to expect, but as it is my first time attending a social work conference and my first time in Tampa, I fully intend to make the most of this trip. I am attending this conference as a means to develop professionally as well as network with others who have similar interests especially as a final year student about to begin the job search.

I’ve been reading up on a few of the sessions and some I would like to attend include “Finding Balance Through the Wobble: Mindfulness-Based Interventions With Children and Adolescents” and “The Use of Service Dogs with Deployment Related PTSD.”  I mean what better way to reach children and adolescents through music and dance and dogs are a man’s best friend right?  Needless to say, I will be attending some very interesting sessions while learning new ways to effectively reach different populations.

As for the city of Tampa, home of Busch Gardens, TB Bucs and Rays, a zoo and an aquarium, I can’t wait to explore with my classmates.  As of right now I’m expecting sunny skies and low 80’s, a little different than NC weather right now, but perfect for a tourist.  That’s all I have for now, but I’ll be back to report on the conference and my experience.  See you later!!!!

About Kayla Humphrey

Hey y'all! My name is Kayla Humphrey and I am a second-year student in the full-time program at the UNC School of Social Work. I'm originally from Richlands, NC, a rural NC town near the east coast. I am interested in assisting military families or assisting underserved youth and college access. My self-care includes crocheting, watching movies, and going to the beach when it's warm!
This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.