Registration season!

Hey all! The busyness of the semester has finally started to kick in and the final race to the finish line is in full gear. With only 4 more weeks to the semester, this year is flying by! In that spirit, it is officially registration season here at the UNC School of Social Work. Yep, believe it or not, it’s that time of the year again.

With so many great options to choose from, this process can sometimes be difficult for 2nd year concentration year students, as they sign off on their upcoming last semester. Personally, I have always found this time of the semester to be anxiety-ridden in not knowing what classes to choose–simply because I want to take them ALL! Being able to narrow down what to pick is always quite the challenge, however I am excited about my final choices.

For me, knowing that I couldn’t go wrong no matter what I chose is always the best security blanket. With so many world renown faculty at the SSW, no class is a bad class. There is no option available that won’t further benefit your career as a social worker. Also, reminding myself that no matter what I decide, it will just be a small taste of what I have the ability to tap into as I start my new career in social work. There will ALWAYS be more to learn about. That gives me the peace of mind going into this year’s registration season–pick what I want to START with, and go from there 🙂

There is a brand new course being offered at the UNC School of Social Work this spring that I am very excited about taking! It is called the The Satir Growth Model: Becoming More Fully Human.

Specifically, what I love about registration season is that our faculty really does an awsome job of keeping our academics current. They look at the ever changing trends of social work, especially in relation to population’s needs, and create courses that are in alignment with the up and coming new therapies, practice modalities, interventions, etc. This standard is evident with the introduction of this brand new course.

The Satir Model course is a practice option for MSW students that is being offered for the first time this coming spring through a new grant that our school received! It is offered in a non-traditional format, over the course of 3 full Saturdays. The UNC School of Social Work recently recieved a grant to further the work of therapist and social worker, Virginia Satir, and the course will mostly cover training development and research for MSW students like me.

So who is Virginia Satir??

  • Virginia Satir was an American author and social worker, known especially for her approach to family therapy and her work with family reconstruction. People even call her “The Mother of Family Therapy”
  • After years of successful work in private practice and gaining nation attention for her peace efforts on inspiring people to feel more “fully human,” she created the Virginia Satir Change Process Model.
  • She demonstrated through research that change management can impact organizations, and she wanted to expand that logic to working with individuals.
  • Virginia saw client’s “presenting issues” were never really the REAL problem, but instead the underlying ways in which people coped and dealt with the problem is what really creates the issue.
  • Her main distinction in the way people cope stems from self-esteem–the key feature to this practice intervention model.

So what is it exactly?? The Satir Model is a:

  • it is a psychosocial educational model that aims to help people create the kinds of relationships that support emotional, physical, psychic, and spiritual health.
  • strengths based intervention model that is often used in family and couples therapy.
  • specific interventions include coping stances, learning proper interactions, family mapping, and self-esteem resources
  • these interventions guide change and improve the functioning of indivuals, couples, families, and organizations.

What I love so much about this model is that it really helps clinicians understand how family of origin dynamics, race, gender, ethnicity, and socio-economic status impacts the client’s presenting problem. By looking at specific communication patterns and its relation to self-esteem, we gain more psychological awareness of how to best solve the client problem.

I also love that is it is about helping people take ownership for themselves and take responsibility for the choices they make in creating or hindering relationships. This therapy be useful for couples or for families, and it draws in on the STRENGTHS of clients. Lastly, it helps to tap into the client’s inner self-esteem as a main contributor to relationships–an important concept that I think everyone can benefit from and incorporate into their practice, no matter what their intended population.

Safe to say I am quite excited to take this course in the Spring! By deciding on the UNC School of Social Work for your graduate education, you too can have access to great unique classes, such as the Virginia Satir Course Model. Thanks for reading and best of luck in registration season!

Until next time,

Regina D’Auria

About reginae2014d

Hey guys, my name is Regina D'Auria and I am a 2nd year MSW student in the Advanced Standing Program here at UNC SSW. My concentration is Direct Practice. I am originally from New Jersey, and I did my undergraduate studies at Appalachian State University. My areas of interests are with child & maternal health, as well at-risk youth & adolescents. I am particular interested in medical social work and healthcare related settings. I originally started my social work path working with transitional resources for youth aging out of the foster care system. My field placement is at WakeMed Hospital, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit/Post-Partum care. My fun fact is that I am currently dating Netflix. It's pretty much an addiction. We hope you apply to our great MSW program!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.