1, 2, 3, Here We Go!!!!!

First, I would like to say, “OH MY GOSH, it’s the end of the semester.” You know what that means; the last semester is coming and coming quickly. As you can imagine, there is the end of semester scramble that just so happens to occur right before one of the best holidays ever. So needless to say, when I’m not cooking, eating, or passed out, I will be working on the two papers and studying for the exam that I have the week after Thanksgiving. So as I think about next semester, I think about the load I’ll have of 18 hours, the job hunt, and how to take care of myself while doing all of that. When I figure it out I’ll let you know!

I know last time, I told you I would update you on the CSWE conference and it was awesome. Not only did I get to attend the conference, but I was able to explore Tampa, a place I had never visited and met some awesome social workers in the process. I also had the opportunity to meet Congressman Ron Dellums, who was awesome by the way and has an MSW. I enjoyed attending my first professional conference. I think it was something I needed to experience to understand how our education continues to grow. I’m also considering a Ph.D. which I was adamant about not pursing post-MSW. So as your journey continues especially with the application process coming to the end, remember to take care of yourself and enjoy Thanksgiving and Christmas.IMG_0179

About Kayla Humphrey

Hey y'all! My name is Kayla Humphrey and I am a second-year student in the full-time program at the UNC School of Social Work. I'm originally from Richlands, NC, a rural NC town near the east coast. I am interested in assisting military families or assisting underserved youth and college access. My self-care includes crocheting, watching movies, and going to the beach when it's warm!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.