UNC Graduate Student Center = Resource!

I have posted before about the professional development the school of social work offers, and how helpful the events have been. Another resource I recently came across is the Graduate Student Center at UNC. The center is actually located fairly close to the school of social work! I received an email outlining some events the center would be hosting come January and a few caught my eye.

These events are everything from dissertation boot camps to an etiquette lunch to learn the ins and outs of proper business etiquette while dining. I recently went to an event the graduate student center had called: “Managing People and Projects”. It was a two hour session led by a leadership professional. We were able to use People Map to assess our personality style, and then we had a lot of discussions around how to motivate, collaborate, and work with others in the workplace. What I loved most about this event was the interdisciplinary focus. There were graduate students from various schools across campus; this changed the typical conversations I have when all social workers are sitting around the table.

I am looking forward to the etiquette lunch on January 26th. I’ve never had an opportunity to learn proper business etiquette and it is sure to help if I find myself at an interview over a meal or even at a conference with meals served. It is being hosted at the Carolina Inn on campus and it was only 10 dollars (which is a steal for the 4 star restaurant). I am thankful for all of the resources UNC offers for their graduate students. I really encourage you to take advantage of them when you are a Tar Heel! They could certainly set you apart.

Carolina Inn

For more information check out the Graduate Student Center website: http://gradprofdev.web.unc.edu/

About Morgan Forrester

I am an advanced standing student pursuing the CMPP concentration set to graduate in May 2015. I am from northern Kentucky but recently spent 6 years in Louisville, KY, home to some of the best food and horse racing around. My social work interests are education policy, program development and evaluation, social work curriculum and education, community development, policy analysis, research, and leadership formation.
This entry was posted in Events, Getting Involved, Outside of the classroom. Bookmark the permalink.