The Waiting Game

The deadline to apply for UNC-Chapel Hill School of Social Work’s full-time, advanced standing, and Doctoral programs has officially passed! Your application is submitted! It’s done! Have you been checking your email several times a day? Can’t stop thinking about your application and the “what ifs”? Is the suspense killing you? I ask you this because that was definitely me 2 years ago! I decided to write you a post to hopefully bring you some peace and encouragement during “the waiting game”.

I remember the day and time I submitted my application for the MSW program–December 10th, 2012 at 4:05pm. From the moment, I submitted my application up until I got my acceptance letter my thoughts were consumed by “the application” (said in a mysterious voice).  I wish I would not have been so focused on “oh no, what if I forgot an important document?” or “what if they forget to read my application?”. Those thoughts took away my focus from school (I was finishing my undergraduate degree) and from life in general. My conversations with my friends surrounded this application that was already submitted and I could do nothing about except wait. If you are similar to me, I encourage you to take a step back and enjoy the present moment. The decision is now in the hands of the admissions committee.

The program is rigorous. If you get accepted it will take up a lot of your time. I encourage you to use the time/energy you are spending thinking about the application (which is already submitted) towards something that brings you peace and joy. I graduate from the program in May and have been thinking none stop about post-graduation and the job outlooks. All this future thinking has impacted my ability to be present. Before I start a job (fingers crossed) I want to do something fun and spontaneous with my family. I hope you are able take some time during the “waiting period” to simply be PRESENT.

All the hard work is done! I’m so proud of you for taking this step towards your future. Social work is definitely a rewarding field. Hope you get to experience your social work education from Carolina!  🙂

February 10th is the deadline to apply for the Triangle and Winston-Salem 3 year MSW program! 

About MitzyG

I'm a 2nd year Full-Time graduate student at the UNC School of Social Work. I'm on the direct practice track and am interested in pursuing a career in healthcare social work. My favorite kind of self-care is staying in and having a 'pamper night' with a Netflix show playing on the side. My current Netflix addiction is the show New Girl (hilarious--how great is Schmidt?!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.