Spring in North Carolina!

Whether you’ve lived here your whole life or have never traveled to the east coast, you have probably heard how beautiful and wonderful North Carolina is (okay maybe I’m a little bias). There is no denying the convenience of the beach and the mountains in one state. From Chapel Hill, you can reach both the beach in Wilmington and the mountains in Boone in just about 2 1/2 hours. AND…there are a thousand little places in between and all around NC that are worth a day trip. I don’t care who you are, that’s a good deal!

Arguably, one of the best times to go on adventures in NC is the Spring. The Spring brings life and excitement and motivation into our stressed out, MSW-seeking spirits. Even just a walk through campus and to the Tate-Turner-Kuralt building is a beautiful work of art on a warm but breezy Spring Day. Around the Triangle there are outdoor museums, the Arboretum on campus, Duke Gardens and UNC Botanical Gardens, and other outdoorsy destinations like Jordan Lake, the Rock Quarry, Eno River State Park, and tons and tons of trails. Around the state there are numerous lakes, festivals, beaches, and hiking trails.

This past weekend, I went hiking up King’s Mountain near Gastonia, NC (about a 2 1/2 hour drive). It was extremely challenging (full self-disclosure: exercise is not one of my preferred self-care outlets) but extremely rewarding to get to the top and see the incredible view! Not to mention excellent exercise…I was sore for three days. More than anything, it was an awesome break from the pending end-of-semester rush and final year course and field placement preparation. I spent time with my family, met a goal, breathed some fresh air, and was rewarded with an awesome view and memories!

IMG_3465

No matter what type of hobbies you like to do in the Spring, there’s an excellent chance, North Carolina is a great place to enjoy them!

About Hannah Welch

I and almost my entire family are from Gastonia, NC. I earned my Bachelors in Psychology and Sociology from UNC Chapel Hill in 2012 and spent a year as a special needs Kindergarten Teacher Assistant before coming back to get my MSW. I am in the Triangle Distance Education cohort and have a Research Assistantship that has afforded me lots of learning and professional development opportunities. I love the color purple, them Tar Heel boys and the beautiful Carolina campus, and try to continuously live out a quote that was given to me by a friend many years ago: "if possible, nothing without joy."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.