Thoughts on the Final Year

A few weeks ago students poured into the halls of the school of social work as class resumed. It quickly dawned on me that I was beginning my final year at UNC. This realization brought about a mixed feeling of emotions as I pondered on all the good times I’ve had, the wonderful people I’ve met, the work left to do, and the possibilities the future held. I was joyful to be almost done with grad school. I was excited about the possibilities of the future. I was honored to have met so many intelligent, funny, wise, and motivated students, faculty, and staff. I was sad that I would soon be leaving the school I have grown so fond of. Perhaps the most overwhelming feeling I had was the sense of pride for having gotten accepted to one the top schools of social work in the country and for surviving the challenges I was presented with.

These mixed feelings left no doubt in my mind that my decision to attend the UNC School of Social Work was one the best decisions I ever made in my life. Not only has the experience been fantastic, but I also feel like I am well prepared to take on any social work role and that I will succeed at that job. The faculty at UNC are some the nation’s leading experts in their area of interest and it has been a pleasure and a honor learning from them. If you are interested in attending the UNC School of Social Work I want you to consider this as you move toward a final decision; at UNC the faculty are developing new interventions and conducting groundbreaking research which will be studied and taught by other schools of social work for years to come. If you want to go to another school and learn about what is being done at UNC that is okay, but if you want to be a part of these advances in social work you should come to UNC. Good luck to you all and I hope to see you at one the information sessions this year or at Welcome Weekend in the Spring.Drug Facts Week_2015_Pic 120150424_180417

This entry was posted in Academics, I ♥ North Carolina, In the Classroom. Bookmark the permalink.