Mid-Term Pressures: The Importance of Self-Care

20150821_185736

Mid-terms are quickly approaching and the pressures of course work, field responsibilities, and personal life are beginning to mount. The social work program at UNC is not a test heavy program but there are usually several projects, papers, and/or presentations due just before breaks. This can be a very stressful time if you do not plan ahead and practice self-care. You may want to know how it is possible to get a healthy amount of self-care with so much going on?

This can be a challenge, but there is a way. In fact this is where planning is your best friend. Sometimes semesters can get off to a bit of a slow start and you end up with assignments piled up near the midway or end points of a semester. The way I have managed this is by laying out my semester on a paper calendar (phone calendars are nice for quick reminders but holding a paper calendar in my hand seems to be more real to me). Doing this allows me to see where assignments are piled up and I can then start some assignments early. In fact I usually mark assignment start dates on the calendar so I can get them started and finished early or on time. I also take advantage of the slow starting semesters and get assignments completed weeks ahead of time.

I have had a lot of success utilizing this method and find it much less stressful than waiting for assignments to build up on me. By looking ahead and planning my assignments out I can kick back, relax, and watch football while some other people are neck deep in assignments. There have even been times when I felt a little weird because many people were working so hard and freaking out to the extreme, yet I had no work to do. I just knew I was missing some important assignment when in fact I was just well prepared and way ahead of the game. Thus, planning ahead and completing work early is the best self-care you can practice as you maneuver course work at one of the best schools of social work in the country.

This entry was posted in Field Work, In the Classroom, Outside of the classroom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.