Why I Chose Social Work

Going into college, I was set on becoming a psychologist. I double majored in psychology and political science, volunteered in a clinical psychology lab, and completed an independent research study. My experiences helped to establish my path to becoming a clinical psychologist. But by the middle of my junior year, I realized I wasn’t 100% convinced that clinical psychology was the path for me. I knew my end goal was to become a clinician and to work with children, but spending at least five more years in school and doing research didn’t seem appealing when I wanted to do practical work. That’s when I looked into social work.

Initially, studying social work seemed advantageous because I could achieve the same end goal in less time. I even considered other programs such as school counseling or mental health counseling. But eventually, I decided upon pursuing a degree in social work. There were several reasons for this decision.

1. A degree in social work provided me flexibility within the field. With an MSW, I have the option to work in a number of settings—from hospitals to non-profits to schools to private practice. I can do anything from program development to outpatient therapy to advocacy work to case management. There are a number of options and paths within the field, and the degree allows me the opportunity to move as my passions and interests grow.

2. Social work takes a more holistic and ecological approach to viewing individuals. Within psychology, I felt like my focus was more individual centered without as much focus on the effects and context of environment. A strength of the social work field is understanding the interactions of various systems and policies at the individual, community, and societal levels. Having an ecological perspective is a crucial understanding in work with clients.

3. A commitment to addressing social issues and empowering people are two crucial components of social work practice. I’ve always been a proponent of combating social injustice, and those within social work are working towards that goal too. A degree in social work allows me the ability to work in agencies and work alongside other social workers and individuals striving for change.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.