2015…where did the time go??

It’s already the end of the semester, and I am now halfway through my MSW coursework!!  As the year is winding down, I can’t help but look towards the near future. I am eager and excited about the many opportunities that will be afforded to me as a result of my educational privilege.

As I reflect on my career at the School of Social Work thus far, I am proud of the academic accomplishments, growth as an individual, and progress as a competent social worker.  I am amazed at how fast time has gone.  From the nervousness of making my application to school the best it could be, to the anxiety about entering back into an academic lifestyle, to starting field, and getting adjusted to “real life” as a social worker…it has all been eye-opening, startling, and amazing!  I can honestly say that it is both humbling and gratifying to feel that I am in the right place and settling into the career path that I have chosen, a career that chose me.  It is truly a dream realized.

With the mix of emotions, I continue to recognize how important self-care is for our field.  We take on the heavy task of helping others, and choosing to do so for the rest of our careers.  As social workers, we are called to serve others and sometimes forget to serve ourselves.  I now know that self-care will have to be a constant moving forward as a student, and furthermore as a licensed social worker.

I encourage you, whatever path you are on, to continue pushing forward. Whether you are still studying for the GRE, wrapping up your first semester as a first year student, or finishing up your 2nd or final year, realize your potential and look towards the end goal.  If you were to ask me 5 years ago where I would be, I would tell you that I never intend to be in graduate school.  However, it has been one of the best choices I’ve made in life.  I have already changed so much as an individual, sister, daughter, friend, partner, and colleague.  I cannot wait to see the evolution of me a year from now.

BA

 

About brittany92827

Hello everyone! I am a final year DE student with a concentration in Direct Practice. My main interests include mental illness & children, advocacy within minority populations, and rural NC. After graduation, I strive to become a LCSW and work directly with children in a mental health setting. I hope you all find my words insightful and helpful in some way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.