Eyes on the prize

I am now in my final semester at the School of Social Work. It’s amazing how quickly the two years flew by! As I approach graduation, I can’t help but look back on the first few months of my transition to NC. Having been in education for years in DC, the decision to return to NC and pursue my MSW was truly a leap of faith. Not to mention in that same year, I also got married and became a new mom…whew!

There were many reasons (and legitimate ones) for me to say ‘no’ to pursuing my MSW, but without a doubt, I knew it was something I was called to do. And now, I recognize that this degree has exposed me career opportunities, both short-term and long-term, that I never would have considered otherwise. This program has exposed me to new approaches when working with children and families and helped me realize the value of my own unique experiences and perspectives.

With that being said, there will always be an excuse…a reason to say ‘no’…a reason to say ‘not now’ or ‘maybe next year’…I can promise you that there is really never a ‘best time’ to go back to school. One day you just have to decide that instead of waiting for the ‘right time’ to apply, you’re just going to commit and see it through. I’m glad I did and hope you will be too.

This entry was posted in Academics, Getting Involved, In the Classroom, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.