Balancing the Scales

Some of you may or may not follow astrology, but I have always prided myself in being a Libra. Balance and fairness are extremely important to me. As such, these principles trickle over into my everyday life. I try to be fair in all of my relationships and remain balanced in all aspects of life. Although it does not always work, it still helps to try.

Finishing up my second year has been extremely difficult. With concentration planning, wedding planning, and family commitments, I have to intentionally ground myself and stay organized. While all of these things are very exciting, they are all stressors as well. For me, these points are what help me balance the scales.

  • Keep a list! As Donald mentioned in a previous blog, making a list and checking off things as you accomplish them helps you stay focused and remain on task. It also helps by creating a visual for what needs to get done. I prefer to put the less daunting tasks at the top of the list and the longest/most grueling tasks at the bottom. That’s just my personal preference, and I know some prefer to knock out the biggest things first! I figure if procrastination has gotten me this far, what’s the point in changing now.
  • Don’t self-isolate. This is my natural go-to response when life gets too overwhelming. However, I’ve found that remaining connected and being open with friends and loved ones really helps me cope during stressful periods. AND…since this is what we tell our clients to do, as social workers should also practice the same techniques.
  • Keep YOU in mind when making decisions. It can be easy to get caught up in the whirlwind of life when too many things are going on at once. Sometimes it’s necessary to be “selfish” and truly make decisions based on what you desire as opposed to what others are saying. Trust your gut!
  • Lastly, continue to look towards the finish line! No matter what point you are at in your life, your career, or your education, it’s important to set goals and realize accomplishments are within grasp.

As always, hope this helps! Here is a bit of my sweet self-care from the weekend 🙂

20160319_170055 (2)

About brittany92827

Hello everyone! I am a final year DE student with a concentration in Direct Practice. My main interests include mental illness & children, advocacy within minority populations, and rural NC. After graduation, I strive to become a LCSW and work directly with children in a mental health setting. I hope you all find my words insightful and helpful in some way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.