Saved By the Bell!

“When I wake up in the morning, and the alarm gives out a warning
I don’t think I’ll ever make it on time. By the time I grab my books
And I give myself a look,  I’m at the corner just in time to see the bus fly by.
It’s alright ’cause I’m saved by the bell!

If the teacher pops a test, I know I’m in a mess,
And my dog ate all my homework last nite. Riding low in my chair,
She won’t know that I’m there. If I can hand it in tomorrow, it’ll be all right.
It’s all right ’cause I’m saved by the bell
It’s all right ’cause I’m saved by the bell.” – Scott Gale

YOU DID IT! You made it through the first day of classes! Whether you are just beginning or in the final stretch of your journey in UNC’s MSW program, you are one step closer to your goal today! Many of you may remember the popular TV sitcom, Saved by the Bell. As I was scurrying around this morning and preparing for the first day of my internship, I began to unconsciously hum the tune of this show. As silly as the lyrics may be, humming through my first day nervous jitters was a form of self-care.

Thankfully, we all made it through the trials and tribulations of high school that were portrayed in the Saved by the Bell series. However, we will still encounter similar issues during our graduate school years – arrive on time to class, complete assigned readings, and write lengthy papers. One thing definitely remains the same…we need the support of our peers! Always remember, that the UNC Student Ambassadors are here to provide a pat on the back, words of encouragement, attentive ears, and reassurance that it will indeed “be all right.”UNCAmbassadors.jpg

About Debbie Furr

Final year MSW Graduate student in the Winston Salem Distance Education program. Hometown - Walnut Cove, NC. Foundation Internship at Hospice and Palliative Care Center Concentration Internships at CareNet Counseling and Brenner's Pediatric Oncology
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.