Final Year is FINALLY here!!!

I can and can’t believe I am embarking on my final year of graduate school! The past two years have been amazing, awe inspiring, scary, wonderful, eye-opening, and one of the best experiences of my life. If you would have asked me 10 years ago whether I would be in graduate school, the answer would have been no. Now I can say that it was one of the best choices I ever made. Seeking my MSW helped me further myself not only professionally, but also personally. The journey is one I’ll never forget. Not to say it has been easy…balancing personal life, jobs, school, etc. But it is one that has been worthwhile.

Now that concentration year has begun, I am able to reflect on my placement and what I’ve learned in the classroom coming full circle in practice. At the UNC Child and Adolescent Outpatient Clinic, I am able to build my skill set and acquire more “tools” for my toolbox to better serve clients. I appreciate that as a final year student, I  can now translate classroom knowledge into meaningful relationships in field. Additionally, I continue to see how systemic issues and biases influence our everyday lives and affect the hardships and struggles that our clients present. It is imperative to keep in mind that micro and macro issues are intertwined. Although we can have one particular focus, the two are inseparable.

Lastly, as I am now able to work on an interdisciplinary team, I appreciate even more the social work perspective and how unique it is from other training. We, as social workers, bring something extra to the table that enhances our relationships with clients/patients and allows us to acknowledge parts of their lives that are sometimes overlooked in treatment.

Here’s to a great year…wherever you are in your journey!!

20160902_081150

About brittany92827

Hello everyone! I am a final year DE student with a concentration in Direct Practice. My main interests include mental illness & children, advocacy within minority populations, and rural NC. After graduation, I strive to become a LCSW and work directly with children in a mental health setting. I hope you all find my words insightful and helpful in some way!
This entry was posted in Academics, Field Work, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.