Step by Step: Applying

I am entering my 2nd year in the Winston-Salem Distance Education Program but it seems like yesterday I was applying and waiting for a response. There are multiple steps to the application process and it can be anxiety provoking if you are a perfectionist like I am. I thought I would make a list of what strategies I used while completing the application for Chapel Hill’s MSW program.

  1. Be sure to block out time to thoroughly look at the website. The MSW website is user friendly and has updated information regarding each part of the application http://ssw.unc.edu/admissions/masters/apply_now. Note that the process may be slightly different depending on which program you apply to: Advanced Standing, Full-Time, or Distance Education. The bullet points make it easy to follow along with the hyperlinks that give more details.
  2. Attend an information session. The time, date, and location of sessions for each program (Chapel Hill, Triangle Distance-Ed, and Winston-Salem Distance-Ed) are open to anyone that registers. This is a great opportunity to meet faculty, meet current students, and to ask questions.
  3. I set a goal for myself to have my application complete two weeks before Chapel Hill’s actual deadline. And I kept in mind that the people completing my references would possibly need time to work around their personal schedules. (Communicate with them as much as possible and provide them time to meet your “personal” deadline).
  4. Contact a mentor or colleague that would be willing to look over your personal statement and provide feedback.
  5. Attend the GRE workshop. This helped decrease my anxiety and the information provided was helpful with creating a study pattern and knowing what to be aware of while preparing for the test.
  6. Don’t be afraid to contact faculty if you have any questions.

Pace yourself as you complete the process and best of luck on becoming a TARHEEL!

blog-picture

About markelaunc

Hello everyone!! I was born in Wilson, NC and currently live in the Winston-Salem area. While working in a mental health day treatment program for four years, my eyes were opened to the field of social work. I am currently in the 2nd year Winston-Salem Distance Education cohort. My interest include children and families, mental health, and integrated healthcare. I enjoy traveling, singing (at church), and going to the gym.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.