Why I chose UNC! #GoHeels

Besides the fact that I was born and raised a TARHEEL fan (by Dad would not have it any other way), making a choice for Graduate school was very important. When I began my search I knew that I wanted to continue working. Realistically, I was not financially set to leave my job and jump back into school full-time. So I searched for MSW programs that were online and local. I looked at two other programs but I was not intrigued with what they offered. I was becoming frustrated with not knowing exactly where to turn. I chose to reach out to co-workers (one being a social worker) and close friends to decrease my anxiety. I stumbled upon the UNC-Chapel Hill Distance Education (DE) program through a google search. Although I shouldn’t have, I devoted the rest of my day at work to exploring the website! I attended a seminar and knew that the program was a perfect fit for me. The statement that grasped my attention was when a student ambassador stated “The professors a truly supportive” and began to explain how. Having supportive faculty is a key factor for me. I still keep in touch and network with my professors from undergrad.

The time I have spent in this program so far has proven that statement true. The professors in the Winston-Salem DE program respond to emails promptly and do not hesitate to set up meetings. The faculty in Chapel Hill are also helpful with class schedules (especially for summer school) and financial aid. And this part-time program worked well with my work schedule. This is my second year and I am still learning about the various opportunities that this program has to offer its students. If you are looking for a supportive environment (from faculty to classmates) with atmospheres created for learning, I can only recommend one place! #GoHeels

About markelaunc

Hello everyone!! I was born in Wilson, NC and currently live in the Winston-Salem area. While working in a mental health day treatment program for four years, my eyes were opened to the field of social work. I am currently in the 2nd year Winston-Salem Distance Education cohort. My interest include children and families, mental health, and integrated healthcare. I enjoy traveling, singing (at church), and going to the gym.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.