It’s that time of year again…

When papers, exams, internships, work, and family responsibility all come to a climax…it’s the MOST important time to continue your self-care regimen (or start one!) This time of year can be so hectic for students. Whether you treat yourself to something special like a movie, massage, or just some nice peaceful silence, taking care of yourself is crucial to remaining level headed and being able to make that final push for the semester.

It’s so easy for those of us in the caring professions, such as social work, to get caught up in taking care of others. Sometimes, it’s easier NOT to make time for ourselves. But this leads to being overwhelmed, burnt out, and exhausted. So for me, I try to find some time to take of myself throughout the week. I encourage all of you to implement self-care and incorporate time for yourself into your busy schedule!

“Caring for myself is not self-indulgence, it is self-preservation.” –Audre Lorde

 

About brittany92827

Hello everyone! I am a final year DE student with a concentration in Direct Practice. My main interests include mental illness & children, advocacy within minority populations, and rural NC. After graduation, I strive to become a LCSW and work directly with children in a mental health setting. I hope you all find my words insightful and helpful in some way!
This entry was posted in Outside of the classroom, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.