Juggling

We all juggle. Whether we are parents, students, working double jobs, or just trying to balance life. I feel like a half the battle of being a social worker is figuring out how to juggle. And then learning to juggle all over again. And just when you think you have it figured out, relearning once more. In social work we not only juggle our own lives, but those of our clients. And it’s hard. Really hard. Harder than I ever thought it would be. But at the same time it’s incredibly rewarding that another human trusts me enough to let me join in their juggle. That for a brief period of time I can let their arms rest, or take over a couple of the balls, or even just stand beside them as they juggle on their own. The other half of the battle is knowing when to gently lay down the balls and take care of your own juggling. It’s not a giving up or giving in, merely a pause. A chance to re-balance your own life. I’m hoping Thanksgiving is that rest, that time to regroup, so that when I come back I can juggle a little higher and a little longer. That I can help my clients a little more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.