Cohort Love

One of the positive factors that come along with attending a distance education program is the closeness of the cohort. I remember the first orientation, ice breaker activities, and introductions back in August 2015. I knew right away that a cohort with all women would be special and interesting. The wide range between ages, work experiences, and life challenges makes each of our classes unique.  I thoroughly enjoy sitting in class and hearing from the other ladies who have experiences in other careers for years. Their expertise from teaching abroad, working as a lawyer, and assisting in a cardiology clinic help shape the atmosphere for learning.

The best part of being apart of a cohort for two years is seeing a social work bond being created. We inspire and ignite ideas in one another. For example, on certain days, I can tune in to a particular person who is passionate about a specific population and it motivates me to find that same drive. In between classes I see ladies confide in one another about the challenges that life presents while being in graduate school. I have watched friendships blossom and support grow non-stop. From going out in large groups to eat lunch, to sending Facebook messages in the private group to push one another to finish a paper, we have formed a cohort family. Fifteen females can’t be perfect but we often take the time to listen to each other’s perspective. And with the support from our professors, in the Winston-Salem Distance Education Program, we plan to someday take over the world!

cohort-pic

About markelaunc

Hello everyone!! I was born in Wilson, NC and currently live in the Winston-Salem area. While working in a mental health day treatment program for four years, my eyes were opened to the field of social work. I am currently in the 2nd year Winston-Salem Distance Education cohort. My interest include children and families, mental health, and integrated healthcare. I enjoy traveling, singing (at church), and going to the gym.
This entry was posted in In the Classroom, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.