The Best Thing

Being in social work school can be draining. Grad school alone is a challenge, but the depth of social work can cause you to feel particularly overwhelmed. This semester has felt especially heavy as I plunge into issues of intimate partner violence, childhood sexual assault, and a myriad of other injustices and heartbreaking experiences, both in the classroom and with my therapy clients at my field placement.

In the midst of my occasional emotional paralysis, I am led back to a question a friend asked me many years ago: What’s the best thing?

Since being asked myself, I have asked countless friends, family members, and acquaintances, writing down each answer as I go. When I feel down or pessimistic, I refer to this precious list, remembering the best things in life, both big and small. “Hearing your favorite song on the radio.” “Sleepovers that turn into all-day hangouts.” “Seeing the moon during the daytime.” “Riding horses.” “Being honest and having someone really hear you.” “When my daughter was born.” “Being in a warm bed in a cold house.” “The last sentence of a really good book.”

And so, I open the question up to you. What is the best thing? Comment here. E-mail me (tarajc@live.unc.edu). Ask a friend. Start your own list. Regardless of what you do with the question, let’s aim to remember this perspective that is always available to us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.