What NOW??

As my third year of graduate school is coming to an end, I have been reflecting back on many things while also looking forward to what is yet to come. It is hard to believe that just a few years ago, in 2014, I began this journey of the unknown. And now, I am embarking on becoming an LCSW and seeing my dreams come to fruition. I find myself reminiscing on my past experiences, and the struggles and joys that brought me where I am today. To anyone who thinks, should I go to graduate school? Am I good enough? Can I make it in school for 2-3 more years? I encourage you to KEEP PUSHING.

It may seem like a never-ending road, but trust me…the end of the road is within grasp. If you would have asked my 5 years ago would I be in graduate school, the answer likely would have been “No.” If you would have asked my 10 years ago, would I be an undergraduate student at one of the most prestigious institutions in the country, I would have said “I sure hope so.” And if you would have asked me 15 years ago, would I make it out of small town, rural NC, I would have said “It’s doubtful.”  But no matter where you come from and what background, you have the potential to achieve whatever you set your mind to. I truly believe that. With resilience, determination, and perseverance, the sky is the limit. Never give up on your dreams, never forget how far you’ve come, and never forget the goodness that drew you to this field. I feel that now more than ever, our country needs strong social workers to serve our disenfranchised and underserved populations. The field calls for us to get out of our comfort zones and analyze our own lens and biases, in order to make a change for the greater good. What better time than NOW?

“Two roads diverged in a wood and I – I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.” –Robert Frost

 

About brittany92827

Hello everyone! I am a final year DE student with a concentration in Direct Practice. My main interests include mental illness & children, advocacy within minority populations, and rural NC. After graduation, I strive to become a LCSW and work directly with children in a mental health setting. I hope you all find my words insightful and helpful in some way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.