When in doubt, DO self-care!

         No matter where you are in your social work journey…still in the application process, getting ready to graduate from undergrad, a first year student, second year student, or final year student…self-care is likely applicable to you at some point. I constantly find myself going back to the “self-care mantra.” It is truly key when navigating difficult times. Whether it is due to school and family stressors, or triggers that arise in field and the workplace, self-care is critical to one’s overall health and well-being.  Both as a student and now as a budding clinician, I am finding that maintaining a self-care routine is imperative in order to maintain my physical and mental health. 

         For the past few months, I have found self-care to be EVEN MORE crucial for my survival in the MSW program. When things like resume building, entering a new job search, and finishing course work start impacting your everyday life (on top of the typical/usual stressors), the anxiety can be overwhelming. For me, I try to keep things in perspective that we are people first and social workers/students second.  Our professors remind us that “life happens” and that is very much so true. How can we expect our clients and patients to adhere to our words if we are not following through with them ourselves? We must take care of ourselves in order to help our clients. It is important to remember to address our personal lives…family, friends, partners, and any crises that arise in that arena…before we can address our professional lives. Maintaining a self-care regimen will not only help us remain healthy physically and mentally, but also help us provide stability and show up as our best selves for the people we serve.

 

About brittany92827

Hello everyone! I am a final year DE student with a concentration in Direct Practice. My main interests include mental illness & children, advocacy within minority populations, and rural NC. After graduation, I strive to become a LCSW and work directly with children in a mental health setting. I hope you all find my words insightful and helpful in some way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.