Onward

I don’t know how this happened, but somehow so many things are coming to an end: final papers, my capstone research project, classes, my field placement, student ambassador duties, my apartment lease… yet as I wind down, I also find myself revving up.

Over the next four months, I will graduate with my MSW, take an overseas trip with my mom, move out of the apartment that has been home for the last two years, move to the mountains for a summer internship, move again into an intentional community in Durham, and dive into another graduate program at Duke Divinity School for my MDiv.

As I attempt to juggle all of these forthcoming changes, I am regularly reminded to take one week at a time. That is quite hard for Type A planners like myself. While challenging, this approach has been good and necessary for more reasons than one. Primarily, it has helped me slow down and reflect on all of the progress I have made over the last two years at the School of Social Work. I wanted to come here for a long time, and I never want to forget how much of a privilege and gift it is to actually be here. It’s easy for us second-years to gloss over the growth we’ve made as we race to the finish line…our growth academically and intellectually, as well as personally, spiritually, and otherwise.

The School of Social Work has challenged me and made me think critically about countless aspects of my own life and the world around me. It has given me a community of friends and mentors. So while I prepare for the whirlwind of change ahead of me, I also must pause and reflect on my two years here, for which I am so grateful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.